Swimming Canada and the Canadian Olympic Committee have announced Canada’s swimming team nominated to compete at the Lima 2019 Pan American Games and it includes Smiths Falls’ Bailey Andison and Ottawa’s Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson. They qualified at the 2019 Canadian Swimming Trials that took place from April 3 to 7 at the Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre.

Canadian Corey Conners wins the Valero Texas Open,   his first P-G-A Tour victory.    Conners making three birdies in the final five holes for a 6-under 66.

With the win Connors qualifies for this week’s Masters.

Jin Young Ko won the A-N-A Inspiration last night for her first major title on the L-P-G-A Tour and second victory in three weeks. Ko closed with a 2-under 70 for a three-stroke victory. Canadians Brooke Henderson and Alena Sharp tied for 17th at 2-under par.

Canada’s Kevin Koe put on a master class of shotmaking during the world men’s curling championship but he couldn’t pull it out again in the biggest game of the competiiton last night.    Sweden’s Nilas Edin kept the pressure on and didn’t stop until he had a 7-2 victory and his fourth career world title.

67’s blank the Wolves   5-0 for a two-nothing series lead with Games 3 and 4 in Sudbury.

It’ll be the Ottawa Junior Sens and Carleton Place in the CCHL final.   Carleton Place eliminating Rockland in five with a 4-1 win on home ice.

Two NHL coaches lose their jobs.  Phil Housley fired by the Sabres and Bob Bougher fired by the Panthers.

The Cleveland Indians down the struggling Blue Jays 3-1.

Pascal Siakam had 23 points and added 10 rebounds, Kawhi Leonard scored 22 points and the Toronto Raptors beat Miami 117-109 in overtime yesterday. The Raptors close out the regular season in Minnesota tomorrow night.

The Virginia Cavaliers and Texas Tech Red Raiders meet in the N-C-double-A tournament championship game tonight. Neither program has ever been this close to a title, making it a rare matchup of first-timers to the final game of the college basketball season. The last time both teams in the championship game had never been there before was 40 years ago, when Magic Johnson and Michigan State beat Larry Bird and Indiana State.

Filed under: sports